Saturday, April 23, 2016

Copyright Law: What the Practitioner Needs to Know - Sign Up Today!

Live Broadcast on May 5, 2016
This course covers the fundamentals of what a lawyer needs to know to identify, register and make claims to copyrighted materials, how to identify and negotiate deals involving copyrightable subject matter, and how to deal with the U.S. Copyright Office with respect to licenses, assignments and pre-litigation practice. Attendees will learn practice procedures related to cease and desist letters and DMCA takedown notices. We will also discuss how to manage client expectations before pursuing a copyright claim in court and how to assess the all-important question of whether statutory damages or attorneys’ fees will be available. Related professional ethics are covered for each topic. Whether you are tackling basic copyright issues for the first time or are an advanced practitioner seeking fresh ways to look at the ever-changing legal landscape in light of recent case law developments, this practice-oriented course offers value for you.
This course is co-sponsored by the Federal Bar Association.
Key topics to be discussed:
  • Principles of Copyright Law
  • Registering, Supplementing and Correcting Copyright Claims
  • The Logistics of the Copyright Lifecycle
  • License Agreements: What the Dealmaker Needs to Know
  • Work For Hire Agreements
  • Legal Ethics: Investigation and Attorneys’ Fees
  • Cease and Desist Letters and Takedown Notices
  • Ownership or License Litigation
  • Copyright Infringement
  • Motions, Trials, Hearings, Settlements

Date / Time: May 5, 2016
  • 1:00 pm – 5:30 pm Eastern
  • 12:00 pm – 4:30 pm Central
  • 11:00 am – 3:30 pm Mountain
  • 10:00 am – 2:30 pm Pacific

Choose a format:
  • Live Video Broadcast/Re-Broadcast: Watch Program “live” in real-time, must sign-in and watch program on date and time set above. May ask questions during presentation via chat box. Qualifies for “live” CLE credit.
  • On-Demand Video: Access CLE 24/7 via on-demand library and watch program anytime. Qualifies for self-study CLE credit. On-demand versions are made available 7 business days after the original recording date.
For more information and to sign up, click here
 Copyright law, fine art and navigating the courts. Attorney and AuthorCopyright Litigation Handbook (Thomson Reuters Westlaw 2015-2016) by Raymond J. Dowd
 Copyright Litigation Handbook on Westlaw

No comments: